VMU research institutes

Research institutes are the University’s scientific research academic units, which carry out interdisciplinary scientific research, providing a scientific base and research infrastructure for the University’s students to study, training scientists and conducting scientific research. The creation of new institutes is complementary to organisation of research. This is done for the purpose of recognition, visibility and greater funding opportunities for best researchers/scientific groups/scientific schools, as well as to create better and more socially secure conditions for researchers with potential and desire to create top-level science, to coordinate and carry out projects at international level, and participate in international networks and infrastructures.

The university has 5 research institutes:

  1. Bioeconomy Research Institute
  2. Research Institute of Natural and Technological Sciences
  3. Educational research institute
  4. Institute of Digital Resources and Interdisciplinary research
  5. Vytautas Kavolis Transdisciplinary Research Institute