• Chairman of the Council Valdas Adamkus
    Honorary member of VMU Re-establishment Council, VMU Honorary Doctor, the President
  • Deputy Chairman of the Council Algimantas Paulauskas

The Council is a collegial management body which consists of 11 members: 1 member of the VMU Council is constituted by the Students’ Representative Council, 3 members are constituted by lecturers and researchers, one by administration and other members, one by the Minister of Education and Science together with the Senate, another 5 – who are not members of the VMU staff or its students – are put forward by juridical or natural persons.

As foreseen by the VMU Statute, the University’s Council affirms the vision and mission of the University as well as the strategy offered by the Rector, discusses and approves restructuring plans proposed by the Rector, discusses and approves major decisions related to taking care of the university’s support and performs other functions.