The Senate is a collegial body managing academic affairs of the University. The current Senate, consisting of 55 scientists and students, has been elected on November 18, 2015 and will serve for a five year term. According to the VMU Statute, the Senate performs the following functions:

  • ratifies study programmes, programs of scientific research and experimental (social, cultural) development, art and other types; submits proposals to the Rector regarding accreditation and financing of these programs, as well as structural reformation of the university required for the realization of the programs; evaluates the results of conducted researches and the quality and level of studies, research and arts at the university;
  • manages studies, ratifies internal university regulations, appoints the starting and ending dates of the semester, vacation intervals;
  • as offered by the Rector, appoints and recalls deans of faculties, heads of departments and directors of other subdivisions, selected and appointed to their offices as determined by the Statute, by using secret voting; if the applicant is rejected, the Rector proposes another candidacy;
  • in compliance with the principles of staff selection and evaluation determined by the Council, approves qualification requirements for lecturers and researchers, establishes the order of lecturer and researcher assessment and the recruitment organisation;
  • awards pedagogical titles of professor and associated professor, university’s honorary titles and title of professor emeritus according to the order approved by the Senate; creates permanent and temporary commissions and committees;
  • approves internal system tasked with securing the quality of studies, and controls its implementation
  • discusses university’s activity reports and projects of strategic plans submitted by the Rector;
  • approves the regulations of academic divisions, the Study Regulations and other documents that regulate academic affairs;
  • adhering to the procedures determined by the legal acts, calls meetings of the academic community for discussions of important university activities; informs of the decision to convene such a meeting no sooner than 10 days before the event on the university’s website and in other ways determined by the Senate;
  • suggests changes of this Statute to the university’s Council;
  • discusses and approves resolutions on studies, research, social issues, etc.;
  •  performs other functions established in the legal acts and this Statute.

Members of the Senate

University scientists

Chairman of the Senate Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zigmas LydekaFaculty of Economics and Management
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Egidijus Aleksandravičius – Faculty of Humanities
Assoc. Prof. Laimutė Anglickienė – Faculty of Humanities
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Juozas Augutis – Rector
Assoc. Prof. Rita Bendaravičienė – Faculty of Economics and Management
Assoc. Prof. Tomas Berkmanas – Faculty of Law
Assoc. Prof. Vilma Bijeikienė – The Centre of Foreign Languages
Prof. Petras Bingelis – Music Academy
Assoc. Prof. Daiva Bukantaitė – Music Academy
Prof. Ineta Dabašinskienė – Vice Rector for International Relations
Dr. Remigijus Daubaras – VMU Kaunas Botanical Garden
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rimantas Daugelavičius – Faculty of Natural Sciences
Prof. Dr. Leonidas Donskis – Faculty of Politics and Diplomacy
Assoc. Prof. Rūta Eidukevičienė – Faculty of Humanities
Assoc. Prof. Saulius Gerulis – Music Academy
Prof. Dr. Edita Gruodytė – Faculty of Law
Bp. Assoc. Prof. Artūras Jagelavičius – Faculty of Catholic Theology
Prof. Dr. Giedrius Jucevičius – Faculty of Economics and Management
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Vytautas Kaminskas – Faculty of Informatics
Prof. Dr. Julija Kiršienė – Vice Rector for Research
Prof. Dr. Ričardas Krikštolaitis – Faculty of Informatics
Assoc. Prof. Visvaldas Legkauskas – Faculty of Social Sciences
Prof. Dr. Vylius Leonavičius – Faculty of Social Sciences
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Vytautas Levandauskas – Faculty of Arts
Prof. Dr. Nemira Mačianskienė – The Centre of Foreign Languages
Assoc. Prof. Saulius Mickevičius – Faculty of Natural Sciences
Prof. Dr. Saulė Milčiuvienė – Faculty of Law
Fr. Prof. Andrius Narbekovas – Faculty of Catholic Theology
Prof. Dr. Audronė Nugaraitė – Faculty of Politics and Diplomacy
Prof. Dr. Algimantas Paulauskas –  VMU Kaunas Botanical Garden
Assoc. Prof. Rimantas Plungė – Faculty of Arts
Prof. Dr. Jurgita Staniškytė – Faculty of Arts
Prof. Dr.  Saulius Šatkauskas – Faculty of Natural Sciences
Assoc. Prof. Kęstutis Šidlauskas – Vice Rector for Studies
Assoc. Prof. Ilona Tamutienė – Faculty of Politics and Diplomacy
Prel. Prof. Vytautas Steponas Vaičiūnas – Faculty of Catholic Theology
Assoc. Prof. Daiva Vitkutė-Adžgauskienė – Faculty of Informatics
Prof. Dr. Vilma Žydžiūnaitė – Faculty of Social Sciences

Diaspora scientists

Dr. Skirmantas Kriaučionis – Biomedicine and Physical sciences
Dr. Mykolas-Jurgis Drunga – Human sciences and Arts
Prof. Saulius Sužiedelis – Social Sciences

Delegated scientists

Dr. Rolandas Urbonas – Deputy director of Lithuanian energy institute. Delegated by the Rector
Dr. Rimantas Miknys – Director of Lithuanian history institute. Delegated by the Chairman of the 2010-2015 Senate.


Eigirdas Sarkanas – President of the VMU Students’ Representative Council
Paulius Baltokas – students’ representative, Master’s degree studies
Justinas Petkus – Master’s degree studies
Arnoldas Borovskis – Bachelor’s degree studies
Karolina Sakalauskytė – Bachelor’s degree studies
Greta Šmaižytė – Bachelor’s degree studies
Viktorija Šaulytė – Bachelor’s degree studies
Ąžuolas Mocevičius – Bachelor’s degree studies
Loreta Petrauskaitė – PhD studies
Arnas Bendaravičius – Bachelor’s degree studies
Odeta Liesionienė – PhD studies
Vaidas Galinis – Master’s degree studies.